About Us

To add context to this study resource: like other second years, I was a faithful UFAP (Uworld, First Aid, Pathoma) user during my 4 weeks of “dedicated prep” allowed by my school for Step 1. While I studied hard and got through UFAP once, I downloaded a less than stellar Step 1 score report (<210) from the NBME. With a low step 1, I knew that regardless of my specialty of choice, residency applications would be more difficult for me than for my peers who scored higher on Step 1 than I did.

Will An Improved Step 2 make up for a Poor Step 1 Score?

While the jury is still out on whether board exams are reliable predictors of one’s performance as a physician, previous research has shown that performance on Step 1 and Step 2 CK is one of the strongest predictors performance on Step 3. This is why residency program directors care so much about Step 1 scores despite their questionable relevance to resident performance. Improving on Step 2 CK by a significant margin helps demonstrate to program directors that you can perform well on standardized exams and Step 3 will be no exception. The most recent Program Director Survey from the NRMP also found Step 2 CK score to be a more important factor than Step 1 score for many specialties such as Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, and Psychiatry.

How to Improve on Step 2  From Step 1?

Unlike the seemingly tried and true UFAP, there was not a great deal of cohesive literature on how to tackle Step 2 CK. What I did identify was one major theme: less resources but more repetition and comprehensive review. Carefully selecting my resources and sticking to a study schedule helped me raise my Step 2 CK score 45+ points from my Step 1 (my CK score report here)

At the time of writing, I am a fourth year student who matched into my specialty and program of choice a few weeks ago. While my Step 1 was a hurdle I had to overcome when applying to residency, I am confident my improved Step 2 CK showed that I am a capable test taker.

To help others improve on CK, I wanted to share some of the research I did prior to my CK prep. To that end, I’ve adapted my  study schedules for Step 2 CK and have written a guide on what resources to focus on during dedicated.

 


⇉ Other helpful resources

Step 2 CK Study Guide
Step 2 CS Study Guide
Shelf Resources (by subject)
Anki Settings Help for Shelf or Step Prep
How to make Anki Cards Efficiently

The study resources featured on this blog such as the study schedules and Anki tips are free to use, as I know what it is like to be a student living on a fixed budget. To support this blog, please consider using the links above to make any Amazon purchases you may find yourself needing during your prep to support our blog. Step 2 CK Study guide is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon. 
If you would like to support the blog and its content, please press share below!
Note: Everything on this blog is for informational purposes only and reflects solely my individual views and opinions. 

 

Leave a comment